Different forms of Yoga

Hatha Yoga

In Sanskrit, HA means sun, THA means moon. Today, Hatha Yoga is mainly practiced for health, vigor and vitality. Hatha Yoga is widely practiced across the world and is the most common and accepted form of Yoga.

It’s a remarkable form of exercising, stretching, and freeing the body so it can be a healthy, long-lived, and vital instrument of the mind and soul, t hus bringing about health and happiness to a Hatha Yoga practitioner.

Kundalini Yoga

Kundalini literally means "coiled" and is represented by a metaphorical coiled snake at the base of your spine. Relatively new to the Western Hemisphere, Kundalini, "the yoga of awareness," opens your heart, builds strength and releases the energy located at the base of your spine.

Bhakti Yoga

Bhakti yoga, or devotional yoga, is the most natural path for those who are dominantly seeking emotional fulfillment and well being.

Karma Yoga

Karma means 'to do.' Karma refers to the universal principle of cause and effect.

Jnana Yoga

Jnana means wisdom or discernment. Jnana yoga is thus the path of wisdom and jnana meditation is many-faceted.

The main purpose of jnana meditation is to withdraw the mind and emotions from perceiving life with a myopic view and to behold and live with reality, or spirit.

Raja Yoga

Raja means royal or kingly. Raja yoga meditation is generally based on directing one’s life force to bring the mind and emotions into balance. This is done to ensure that the attention may be easily focused on the object of meditation,

Mantra Yoga

Mantras (or mantrams) are words, phrases, or syllables which are chanted thoughtfully and with growing attention.

Mantra yoga meditation involves chanting a word or phrase until the mind and emotions are transcended and the super conscious is clearly revealed and experienced.

Tantra Yoga

The word tantra literally means "expansion." A tantra yogi concentrates on expanding all levels of his or her consciousness to unveil and realize the Supreme Reality. Tantra focuses on the dynamic aspect of divinity called Shakti, or "the Cosmic Mother."

Kriya Yoga

“Fundamentally, kriya means internal action. When you do inner action, it does not involve the body and the mind because both the body and the mind are still external to you. When you have a certain mastery to do action with your energy, then it is a kriya.


In the practice of Yoga, Asana denotes the art of sitting still or in any posture useful for restoring and maintaining a practitioner's well-being. Additionally it contributes to improving the body's flexibility and vitality and cultivating the ability to remain in seated meditation for extended periods.